Search our website Find job opportunies at THI and St. Luke's Find a doctor location and contact information
Electrophysiology Research
  Back to previous page

Electrophysiology Clinical Research & Innovations

Mission Statement

The mission of the Electrophysiology Clinical Research & Innovations program (ECRI) at the Texas Heart Institute (THI) is to create and develop an infrastructure for translational and clinical cardiac arrhythmia research and innovation in order to establish Texas Heart Institute as a nationally and internationally recognized leader in the field of cardiac arrhythmias research and management.


The ECRI group is focused on the design and implementation of ongoing research projects targeting detection, management and treatment of cardiac arrhythmias and the development of strategies for community-wide cardiovascular disease education.

Ongoing studies include a variety of research topics with the following goals:

  • Application of carbon nanotube fibers as a therapeutic and diagnostic tool to manage heart disease

  • Development of a tool to mitigate esophageal complications during radiofrequency ablation to treat Atrial Fibrillation

  • Impedance based navigation tool to enable easier access to pericardial space

  • Wireless pacing to improve cardiac resynchronization therapy

  • Painless atrial defibrillation modalities to improve a patient’s quality of life

The ECRI group also performs numerous translational and large animal studies to test new drugs, procedures or devices for treatment or prevention of heart rhythm disorders. In addition, ECRI investigators developed the first electrophysiology database at the Texas Heart Institute.  


Mehdi Razavi, MD
Brian Greet, MD
Cardiac Electrophysiology Fellow
David Burkland, MD
Cardiac Electrophysiology Fellow
Payam Safavi-Naeini, MD
Research Associate
Anand Ganapathy, MEng
Research Engineer
Mathews John, MEng
Research Engineer

ECRI Team Photo_April 2017 
(From left to right) Joanna Nathan, MEng (alumnus), Brian Greet, MD, David Burkland, MD, Farah Shanoon, MD, Mehdi Razavi, MD, Payam Safavi-Naeini., MD, Mathews John MEng, Anand Ganapathy, MEng 


  • NCRP Winter 2015 Collaborative Sciences Award, American Heart Association

  • MacDonald Grant 2010-2011,2013-2017

  • Private funding from Allergan, Medtronic, Biosense Webster, St. Jude Medical

Like us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to us on YouTube Find Us on Flicikr Follow Us on Pinterest Add us on Google+ Find us on LinkedIn 

Please contact our Webmaster with questions or comments.
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
© Copyright Texas Heart Institute
All rights reserved.